Skip to content

On publishing the MBTI or Myers-Briggs Type Indicator in 1943, Isabel Briggs Myers established 16 types in the Myers-Briggs system.

These types use a 4 letter code (such at INTP, for example) that come from the 16 possible combinations of these 4 dichotomies:

In 1978, David Keirsey published a book called “Please Understand Me” that proposed that these 16 types can be categorized into 4 temperaments.

I’ve taken the liberty of changing the names of the 4 temperaments for the purposes of this site. Here are the temperaments with my updated names and each of the types that fall under them with brief descriptions:

Citizens (aka Guardians [types with an S and a J)])

ISTJ (The Rock)
ISFJ (The Supporter)
ESTJ (The Boss)
ESFJ (The Host)

Catalysts (aka Artisans [types with an S and a P)])

ISTP (The Assassin)
ISFP (The Dionysian)
ESTP (The Showperson)
ESFP (The Juice)

Advocates (aka Idealists [types with an N and a F])

INFJ (The Oracle)
INFP (The Healer)
ENFJ (The Mentor)
ENFP (The Inspirer)

Masterminds (aka Rationals [types with an N and a T])

INTJ (The Architect)
INTP (The Logician)
ENTJ (The Visionary)
ENTP (The Experimenter)

Back To Top